As I Enter the Apple Universe

Although I have nearly always worked in Apple-dominated fields, (desktop publishing, web, photography and video) I have always been a PC-user.  It wasn’t really a conscious choice, it’s just that all of my work computers have happened to be PC and when I got married, he happened to have a PC computer (and knowledge) too.  So, naturally, when I bought my very first computer (actually just less than a decade ago) I picked a PC system as well.  Don’t get me wrong, I can find my way around a Mac, but it just wasn’t my “native language”.

Fast-forward to today, in the sea of new tablet computers, e-readers, mobile phones and the like, I wanted a device that was not a whole big heavy-duty desktop computer, but something a little more user-friendly with a larger screen size than that of a Smartphone.

After looking around and weighing some things, I came upon my perfect solution:  a MacBook Air.  It doesn’t come cheap, but it is fulfilling my wildest dreams and then some.  I feel like I’ve acquired a new limb that I need to learn how to integrate into my life.  I’ve been so busy with all of the social media and web marketing-types of information, I’ve completely ignored my own evolving technology needs.

I received my MacBook for Christmas and have finally opened the Pandora’s Box wide to reveal Apple’s cool apps and interlocking systems and I must say, MY…this is FUN!

There’s a whole new world out there that I have yet to explore – it is invigorating and my brain is just spinning with all of the possibilities and new ways to organize my notes, pictures, etc.

I’ve discovered iCloud, which isn’t that exciting because it seems to be Apple’s answer to Google Docs.  It would probably be more exciting to me if I didn’t have a whole work e-mail system and calendar to maintain already.  Since that system is more-or-less locked down to my company, I guess their system wins out automatically.  I store all of my work and personal contacts and appointments together in their system.

I’ve found Skitch, which I’m really enjoying as I’m a huge SnagIt fan and enjoy the ease of grabbing things as I need them to squirrel away for later.

Speaking of squirreling things away, I’ve also discovered Evernote, which might be life-changing.  Prior to this, I had found the social media site, Pinterest, which fulfilled a piece of what I was looking for, but Evernote fulfills that (gathering notes from the web), but it can translate handwritten notes and save photos too!

In testing an iPad for work a year-and-a-half ago, I had already discovered Pages, Numbers and Keynote.  They’re great programs and transfer easily on iCloud, but since work is all still PC-based and because I don’t need to draft beautiful documents (Notepad or similar works fine) I may also use Evernote for any word processing I would need to do.  Numbers may be handy, however…

One thing I’m still mulling over is my recipe collection.  Not only do I create my own recipes, I gather them from everywhere you can think of too.  I have one giant word doc carefully laid out into a cookbook-ready format, but it would be amazing if I could place them somewhere like Evernote or a separate blog so that they could be searchable and kept in a place where I could access them from anywhere – and yet be able to also extract them to pull together a book someday, should I want to give someone a gift, etc.  Hmmmm…

So, the adventure begins!  Only a day into it and I’m already having some amazing experiences.  Just when the technology landscape was beginning to feel a little boring and sluggish, I’ve opened a portal to a whole new dimension!

About hollybarber

I have a well-rounded communications and photography/video background with a healthy dose of technology. I enjoy the creation process, carrying projects through from concept to finish and the challenge of fine-tuning processes. I like to be organized, and I have a regard for the importance of proper asset management. I definitely have a creative side that enjoys design work, photography and art direction. I like to imagine the possibilities and think of clever, creative solutions. Continuously exploring and learning is part of my nature, which makes me a natural fit for working with technology and the Internet. Specialties: Web producing, digital communications, design, usability, mobile marketing, web marketing, creative problem solving, art direction, process improvement, project management, digital imaging, branding
This entry was posted in Career, Digital Marketing Strategy and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to As I Enter the Apple Universe

Leave a Reply

